DC3 VOR Gauge

OK, I understand VOR, but the gauge, switch and knobs on the bottom left of the instrument panel has be stumped.

The only manuals I’ve seen just say it for VOR/DME. I don’t understand what the switches do and the the dials and arrows never seem to lineup to anything that makes sense for a given flight.

Thanks.

1 Like

I am no expert with the DC-3, but I believe the RMI on the bottom left has to be used for VOR tracking just as a bearing pointer would be used when navigating with an automatic direction finder to an NDB. The traditional VOR receiver on the bottom right row in front of the pilot does not have an OBS knob as that instrument is for a LOC and GS signal on an ILS which does not require a course input since LOCs transmit one course vs a radial in 360 degrees like a VOR.

Like you I am puzzled by the implementation.

However, I can say that you can use NAV1 with the CDI by keeping the switch in the NAV1 position. Dial your desired radial with the “CDI” knob and you will see the HSI needle swing as you dial in a radial that leads TO/FROM the VOR.

Note: the compass card is incorrectly calibrated (This sort of thing seems par for the course with AH’s work). If you turn on LOCK style tool tips you can see the actual degrees you’ve dialed in. Note in my screenshot the dial is not pointing to 177 degrees, but that is what I do have it set to. Also note that the needles are swapped for NAV1 & NAV2 unlike any other NAV radio setup I’ve seen. The white hollow needle is NAV1 and the green thin needle is NAV2.

I like to load C&D at KPRB parking spot 4. Whist parked, I can tune MQO (112.40) and PRB (114.30) without having to take flight and both will be picked up on the NAV radios.

I’ve got NAV1 tuned to MQO and, from where I’m parked, a heading of 177 degrees will fly you straight to the VOR. You can see that reflected in the CDI, because the needle is now centered.