DIY controls FS2020 and Air Manager?

I’m studying DIY solutions for pedals (more later ) and see a lot using somthing called “Air Manager”.

Do I need this to make my pedals for FS2020 ?

What are the pro/cons using it if it’s NOT needed ?

For things like pedals it’s best if you build it to be recognized by your computer as a standard game controller. This can be done with some types of Arduino controllers like the Micro. That way your pedals will be compatible not only with MSFS but any game or sim that you may want to use in the future and you don’t need any special software running on your computer.

Air Manager’s strength is more for building fake dial displays using screens. It can also do the interface for buttons and knobs but for that kind of things but for that I’d recommend MobiFlight instead (MobiFlight + Arduino + Your Favorite Flight Simulator = Your Home Cockpit!) as it’s free and open source and doesn’t even requires any programming.

Thx for the quick repay !

In the longer run I want to add Flight Yoke and some switches, so what version of the Arduino clone would you recommend
OR
maybee it’s better to let the padels have it’s own Arduino and the Yoke and switches it’s own too ?

Unfortunately I couldn’t get registered at the MobiFlight because I have a GMAIL - it wont accept it as an e-mail address :frowning:

I’d start here: Leo Bodnar, Simulator Electronics

Has absolutely everything you’ll need. His boards are plug-n-play: Plug in the USB cable, and it’s instantly recognized by windows as a gaming controller. You might have to download some extra software(supported on the website) if you plan to use rotary switches, but that’s the most you’ll need.

Even the small boards can take up to 36 buttons/switches (Go ahead and get 2. those 36 positions start filling up REAL fast)

They ship worldwide, in a pretty reasonable time too

That’s not DIY, I think … so that’s NO GO !

1 Like