Do I need a link cable with the Oculus Quest 2?

Hi there,

I’m a total newbie when dealing with VR, do I need a link cable to use the Quest 2 with MSFS 2020?

(ps, I did do a search but didn’t see anthing).

Cheers.

The Oculus Link cable will probably give you the highest quality, but it does work with an app called “Virtual Desktop” that lets you play from your PC wireless over WiFi. You can buy it on the Oculus store and then use an additional app called “SideQuest” to install a patch for it that allows you to play in VR over the wireless link.

You also need the latest beta of Steam VR for it to work.

1 Like

You need a cable yes (or the Virtual Desktop solution @EndDays mentioned). It is by far the easiest and most stable solution. But you do NOT specifically need the Oculus Link cable, it’s just a good USB cable. I bought a USB-A to USB-C cable specifically for the Quest 2, but not from Oculus and it was 1/3 of the price.

3 Likes

Thank you both very much for your answers. The hard part now is just waiting for the headset to arrive.

Have a great day!

My experience is that the oculus link is still really in beta phase. Virtual desktop works so much better in all regards. Also quality wise.

Especially if you consider the fact you dont have a cable that drags your head. Its such a relief!
You can walk around in your plane, around your plane. Heck! If your wifi is crazy enough you can walk around whole New York city if you want! :sunglasses: :smile:

2 Likes

I tested both Virtual Desktop and Link and prefer link quality

1 Like

I have Quest 2 and a good c link cable. However, I don’t get anything when hooked up. I must be missing something. I don’t want to go through Steam unless I really have to.

You should get an option in the headset to enable PC Link. It’s within the settings menu and within the quick launch menu after you plugged in the cable. Mind that you should have the Oculus PC application installed also.