Favor Please. Step by step guide to setting up Oculus Rift S

I’m very new to the Oculus Rift S and would really appreciate some kind soul posting a simple list of steps to enable VR with my Oculus Rift S. I’ve read through dozens of posts and most people seem to be way ahead of me and are only solving resolution or stuttering issues. I’ve also searched YouTube videos. I frankly just want to fly and not diddle with the computer instead of flying.

MSFS Ultimate downloaded from Microsoft Store. Oculus software loaded on my computer but not configured yet.

I am a very experienced professional pilot with CFI, CFII, and MEI plus a couple of business jet type ratings. I will be pleased to repay the kindness by perhaps answering questions from others on real world flying challenges.

System specs if it matters:
Windows 10 Professional (x64) Version 2009 (build 19042.685)
3.60 gigahertz Intel Core i7-9700K
64 GB RAM
NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080ti

Thank you in advance,

Mack

1 Like

The universal oculus steps are following the Known Issues (launching the sim - no updates) section here and the performance guide here. Then, you should test with both Nvidia Game Ready latest drivers and the 456.xx version (latest has a big performance increase but has stuttering for some people). Important, go to Nvidia Control Panel and try to match the settings here, while reading the first two posts
here, which is a pretty complex guide made the most active and perhaps knowledgeable person of this forum, which I wish I could say is me but I’m like in 30th place in the VR Nerd in VR MSFS forum list :slightly_frowning_face:

Unfortunately there’s no universal guide, but I have gotten playable results on a 1060 following all of these as best as I can

4 Likes

Hi, hope the following helps you, and anyone else with similar specs. Mine are:

i7-7700k, overclocked to 4.8
Nvidia 1080Ti
32gb DDR 3000 RAM
Oculus Rift S
MSFS through Microsoft Store (not Steam)