FBW A32NX - Simbrief integration and ILS approach

I have an account on Simbrief (Navigraph account). I’ve downloaded the FBW A32NX (switch from Stable to Development version). I believe I’ve integrated my Simbrief Pilot ID into the FlyPad.

The flight in Simbrief had a departure and arrival runway. Departure was from EGCC runway 05R and arrival was in EGLL runway 09L.

I managed to load this Simbrief-generated flight into the FMS.

All was well shortly after take-off when I switched the autopilot on, but as I got nearer to EGLL I was no longer in NAV mode. It had changed to HDG mode and the plane just flew past EGLL and continued south.

I did notice no route displayed in the VFR map in MSFS. Also, the MCDU was showing something like ‘Enter destination info’ as I got closer to EGLL.

I am new to the A32NX, Simbrief and MCDU/FMS, but I have done a fair bit of reading on the Simbrief integration and how to load the Simbrief fligth plan into the FMS. I’d appreciate any pointers on what could have gone wrong. I was expecting a gear-to-gear autopilot flight.

I think the Simbrief import does not include SID/STARs, so you must select them in the FMC after loading the flight plan. This is what I do anyway.

If there is no STAR/Approach, I think the way the FBW is coded means it will fly in HDG mode when it reaches the last Simbrief waypoint. It requires pilot intervention to activate the approach.

Now, that said, there are a thousand people here with a lot more experience with Simbrief imports on the FBW, so all corrections to my poor explanation will appear below!

You need to program the STAR (if applicable) and the approach in the FMC. On the flight plan page, click on the LSK for the arrival airport and select the “arrival” LSK. From there plug in the STAR and approach as required.

Thanks for the replies. I’ll try to figure out the additional steps needed. There is a link on the FBW site that discusses the FMS/MCDU programming so I’ll read up on that.