First time to start developing an addon ? Any suggestions?

Hello everyone,

I’ve been playing Flight Simulator since 2004, and I have always great interest to this simulator. Then I became a software engineer, and have worked different areas so far including mobile and web areas. I want to make a simple app/web app, just for beginning. I honestl’y haven’t decided yet but I’m thinking about making a traffic board where I could check departures and arrivals. Since this is the first time I’m gonna be doing this, I really need some advice. Any programming language, anything I should know would be grately appreciated.
Thanks in advance !

This really depends on what you’re making, and whether or not you want to keep it proprietary and charge $ for it or make it free and open source.

Assuming you go down the open source route, here’s some things I’ve learned along the way as a FS FOSS dev:

• Do not skimp on UI/UX. Does your application look like it’s from 2004? Is it hard to find features/buttons? Stop. Think about how the user can most easily interact with your product, and how to make it look clean. Give it a brand, a color palette, a graphic design language, a font etc. and go from there when designing the front end.

• Make libraries, not single-use apps. Do you think your application has uses elsewhere? Write some documentation for it, make it adaptable to other applications. Write it in a way that any developer can get started in 15 minutes or less if they want to contribute to it or use it elsewhere.

• Want to collaborate with others? Discord. Discord. Discord. This is where the Indie/Open Source MSFS Dev work is happening, and you can get a lot of help and advice from people on this social app by joining various servers.