FlyBeside, for finding multiplayer flights and lessons

I’ve launched FlyBeside, and I’d love to get your feedback. What would make it more helpful for finding people for multiplayer flights? How would you search for people differently? How would you like to be informed that someone wants to fly with you? Are the private lessons a useful idea?

FlyBeside is a free website and desktop app to let you easily find pilots for multiplayer flights. You can also find one-to-one lessons on the marketplace, buddy flights and group flights, and flag that you’re currently looking for wingman or copilot (using YourControls).

You can sign up for free at www.flybeside.com , or read more about it here:

Does this sound interesting? Thanks for the feedback.

Given the lack of comments on the prior 2 announcement posts this month, I’ll chime in as I’m a product manager and know how important early feedback is, even if it’s not the best.

A couple important things about me that inform my perspective:

• I’m not an especially social person when it comes to flight sim. I almost am never looking for anyone to fly with. Maybe I’m not a minority, but I don’t think we’ve ever had good data on that from something as exhaustive as the Navigraph survey, for instance.
  • Continuation of the above, but if I am going to fly with someone, it’s going to be someone I’ve probably already gotten to know fairly well via another group. I know there are people who will happily fly with strangers, but I don’t know if they are the rule or the exception to the rule (I suspect latter.)
  • I’d never consider charging for teaching someone anything in flight sim. This is a hobby full of free addons, content and community and while I’m happy to buy payware aircraft and scenery, the idea of a marketplace for paid human services just feels unusual to me given how helpful everyone is for free.