Garmin 530 shows rounded flight legs between waypoints | Cessna 172

Hello everyone!
I’m learning Garmin 530 in C172 and I tried to create my first flight plan there. I noticed that my flight plan legs are shown rounded-like or smoothed if that makes sense. The flight legs are supposed to go directly to the waypoint, I guess. It my case they are so rounded they don’t even pass through the waypoint which makes it hard to follow the leg. Please check the screenshot

Won’t get fixed until Working Title releases their GNS530 which will replace the core sim code.

Isn’t this the expected behavior anyway? You can’t turn instantly at the waypoint; you need to cut the corner. Otherwise you’ll end up with cross track error of whatever your turn radius is on the next leg.

Sorry, I am new to the game, so I’m confused. So, is it a known glitch and we need to wait for a third party to release a mod? The Working Title is a third party mod developer?

They’re not a Third Party, they’re a First Party to Microsoft - just like Asobo. They’ve been hired to revamp all the Flight Management Systems in the sim. They’ve already done so with the G1000 and made it an NXi version. It’s currently available on Marketplace, soon to be part of the core sim code in Sim Update 10. The GNS units will receive the same treatment.

1 Like

I don’t think so. By the way, autopilot flies in a correct way. It goes straight through the point and then turns. Autopilot does not follow those rounded legs

It’s because the paths aren’t being displayed correctly from a vector perspective. And some of that is also the unit not understanding the full AIRAC Leg types. Soon you’ll see very neat and compliant moves like Tear Drop entries and Reversals.

1 Like

Thanks for the info! I saw a 2021 tutorial for garmin 530 and there was no this kind of glitch. No rounded legs of any kind. Looks like it got broken after some update.