Garmin Avionics Stack Overhaul

This sim is brilliant in so many ways. I love the default GA aircraft fleet with the exception of the Garmin implementations. Please consult with Garmin to get their avionics products straightened out in the sim. I’m not even asking for every function to be represented, but solid basics to cover the most typical IFR use cases.

As a real-world pilot, I put a lot of value in sims that can closely replicate what I’m flying. One pretty common item in GA is GPS as well as Autopilot units. More specifically, some very common units - especially in the “older aircraft” we typically see for sale or rent - are the Garmin 430 and 530 (WAAS please) as well as S-Tec autopilots.

While I don’t expect them to be fully functional (that would be fine), I’d like to see the same level of operation that we see in some competitors’ base products.

3 Likes

Well, I had a couple of hours on the 430 during my flight training and I do have also some kind of ideas how it should work within the sim, but I also do totally understand that the including Garmin avionics are not working 100% like in the real world and I assume for most of the people, there is no need to have this depth in functionality as we are looking for.

Basic functionality, like flying “a direct to” out of an existing flight plan should be available in my eyes.
It tried it a couple of times in the sim, but the 430 was only displaying the next active point from the loaded flight plan.

This is the chance for third parties developer to sell their already available products (for other platforms at the moment, of course), which then have a certain system depth. Need to say that even products from Flight1, or RealityXP does not have 100% of the functions as their real counterpart, but I would say with about 95-98% they are really close. :wink: