Has anyone gotten SimConnect to repeatedly get data?

Hi there,

I am a C++ novice, but I am trying to get data such as altitude, lat/lon, ground speed etc… constantly from SimConnect. I am able to get data after the first loop of calling the dispatch method, but after that I get data with all zeros and then the dispatch method stops getting called.

I believe it has something to do with the setup of my project as I read somewhere that when using the SimConnect.dll, it sends data only once (or something like that). However, I followed the steps in the documentation of adding the header file then adding the existing property sheet within the SDK. I then start my app using the generated .exe file.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thank you for your time

Look in the SDK: D:\Program Files\FlightSimulator\sdk\Samples\SimvarWatcher. That has code that gets variables from SimConnect.

1 Like

Maybe consider an easier language to start with. Python is very beginner friendly. This is a SimConnect library for Python

1 Like

Ok great! I’ll take a look! Thanks!

Oh cool! I didn’t know that was available, thank you!

1 Like

Hey buddy, if you figured anything out give let me know on discord. Im having the same problem right now. Qua Qua#7981

yes it works fine for me. I oriented my self using the P3D SimConnect examples. There you will find more C++ examples.

That’s in C# not C++

It’s important to know SimvarWatcher is a VERY BAD example of a simconnect program (well, ok, at least it compiles).

Fundamentally you should NOT be spamming the sim with data requests for the same property.

You should request the data ONCE and provide a callback and the sim will send you the data on an agreed period (e.g. once per visual frame, once per second…).

The clue is in the comment in the SimvarWatcher code:
// May not be the best way to achive regular requests.
// See SimConnect.RequestDataOnSimObject