Helicopters are changing my enjoyment of the sim

I’ve been flying in this sim since Christmas 2020 so it’s coming up on 2 years. It’s been an amazing journey. I most enjoy flying the GA aircraft. For these 2 years it’s been a fun journey learning flying, seeing the world, and becoming proficient with all the equipment in each type of aircraft. I’m an engineer and can spend hours just learning what one instrument does and mastering how to use it properly. I think I’m pretty good right now. All the different varieties of aircraft and all the different systems have kept me busy.

For the last week I’ve been flying the helicopters. I’m loving them and notice they’re changing what I love to do in the sim. I’m enjoying learning this style of flying like before but what I’m also noticing is I’m loving the sight-seeing aspect of the sim much more.

In GA aircraft I fly between cities and enjoy the terrain. I like to fly through mountains and along coastlines and enjoy the beauty of the world. But in helicopters I’m having fun flying in just one city. I can zip around a town, hover to take in the view or focus on an interesting aspect of the city, and then move on to the next thing close-by. It’s a totally different thing flying in one city and looking deeply at the buildings and layout of the cities. Or study how the rivers and roadways flow throughout the landscape.

So I’m surprised at how much I’m loving the helicopters. It’s really changed how I fly and what I do while flying. I know I’ve got lots of new things about helicopter flying to learn but I also know I have lots of cities to revisit and will look at them in a different manner than before. I’m happy for this unexpected change and thought I’d share my excitement with everyone.

Happy flying!

26 Likes