How are you preparing for helicopters for MSFS 2020?

How are you preparing for helicopters for MSFS 2020?

I am not coming from FSX days, so I am new to flight simulators. I am more of a GA guy and training with the C152/C172, but I have always had an interest in helicopters. To prepare for the upcoming 40th anniversary, I have been reading and reviewing the FAA Helicopter Flying Handbook (https://www.faa.gov/regulations_policies/handbooks_manuals/aviation/helicopter_flying_handbook) and testing out the new features/improvements of the flight model in MSFS 2020 and learning to fly helicopters in other sims.

I am hoping to be able to master hovering and low flights to really enjoy the scenery to flight simulator and looking forward to see how Asobo can implement the rotorcraft flight model.

Any other helicopter fans out their? What are your go to resources and training?

Let me know what 3rd party developers you are following for upcoming helicopters as well!

Source Hype Performance Group H145 reaches version 1.0 (and another helicopter is teased) • HeliSimmer.com

First of all:
Get the correct input devices:

VIRPIL EU - VPC MongoosT-50CM3 Base
VIRPIL EU - VPC MongoosT-50CM3 Base (virpil-controls.eu)

VIRPIL EU - VPC Rotor TCS Plus Base
VIRPIL EU - VPC Rotor TCS Plus Base (virpil-controls.eu)

VIRPIL EU - VPC Hawk-60 Collective Grip
VIRPIL EU - VPC Hawk-60 Collective Grip (virpil-controls.eu)

VIRPIL EU - VPC ACE-Torq Rudder Pedals
VIRPIL EU - VPC ACE-Torq Rudder Pedals (virpil-controls.eu)

Stick Grip and Stick Extension I already have along with throttle quadrant for aircraft and a set of VPC ACE Collection Pedals.

Once this is in house and mounted to the rig:
Fly, training, fly, training, fly, training.

Sources for training material:
The InterWeb

1 Like

Well thats a great investment and pretty penny. I have been getting by using the Honeycomb Alpha/Bravo and MFG Crosswind V3 pedals for now until I get save up enough for heli flight controls.