How to create a Just Flight Livery?

I’m not sure if this is the right place to posit this. Mods, please move if not. Thx.

I’m flying the Just Flight PA28 Warrior II. It comes with a “paint kit” in its Documents folder. This is a zipped file containing two PSD files, with views of the aircraft sections. I presume this file is intended for customisation. I would like to produce a livery more like teh aircraft I flew IRL.

How do I use the files? Can somebody point me at website/YouTube, anything that is good for a complete newbie to liveries. There must be more to getting them working in the sim than just colouring the files in with the electronic paintbox, aka Photoshop…

I’ve searched but I’m not coming up with anything suitable for me.

Thanks in advance,

Nick

Your best bet to start learning is to download a livery of the same plane you want to paint and study the package. I started writing up a compendium on the steps, and realized it’ll take quite some time. But you can learn a lot from studying other livery packages.

One tip, a lot of people include the model directory on top of the texture directory in the SimObjects\Airplanes\LiveryDirectory. It depends on the plane, but you most likely won’t need to in

For tools, I use a combination of GIMP to edit the PNG files and Paint.net to convert to and from the .DDS format required for the textures.

Thanks for the reply. Sorry for my late response - I’ve been snowed under with all sorts… :frowning:

Is there no documentation anywhere? I wasn’t expecting to have to start reverse engineering someone else’s work.

Not from Asobo, no.

The SDK does discuss the subject, but not in enough detail to actually do anything if you don’t already know what you’re doing.