I need help with landing the Airbus 320

For reference, i am a complete newbie so this question might come off as ignorant but figured this would be a good place to ask. For reference I have the logitech x52 stick.

When landing the Airbus, do i need to use the ILS to make a smooth landing? Everytime I try to land manually, without autopilot I really struggle to land.

Is it possible to literally just land the plane with a joystick and is it just a matter of practice or is it impossible to land without the ILS system?

Thank you all in advance.

You should always aim for a 3° glidepath. With or without the ILS.
The 2 red and 2 white PAPI lilghts will also show a 3° glidepath
ILS has nothing to do with the actual landing.

The ILS indication is a nice help to align correctly with the runway.

It just requires a lot of practise and if you are a newbie I highly recommend that you start with a training aircraft, as IRL.

E.g. the C152. A lot less training required until you can successfully and most important consistently land your aircraft.

Most of it is just comes down to practice.

I find that selecting a runway end to “Set as arrival” is a good way to practice landing, as the aircraft will spawn in-line with the runway and on the glideslope. All you need is to manage your power and pitch and the descent angle.

And above all the landing speed and the flaps. Then it’ll work

Lots of good advice already given, one more piece if it helps:

A stabilized approach is key, especially when learning.

Make sure to be aligned with the runway, on the glide path (the PAPI or VASI lights), on the final approach speed, in the right configuration (gear and flaps), no later than 1000 ft above the runway (500 ft in good weather and with some practice). Then it is just a matter of maintaining that stable approach using small corrections all the way to the flare and touch down.