If starting from the World Map the Plane Flies Itself and Won't Let Me Control It

I have experience with MSFSX, but I’m new to MSFS2020. I don’t understand why when I start by selecting a plane (e.g. Cessna 172) and a location on the World Map, when I click to start the flight, the plane just flies itself in a straight line until it runs out of fuel. I cannot move the ailerons or the rudder or change what the plane is doing. And the simulated pilot talks back and forth with the tower. It’s like riding in a ghost plane. Is there something obvious that I’m doing wrong, or is this simulator malfunctioning? Perhaps I need to reinstall it, which takes about 4-5 hours as it’s the digital version? I already tried resetting all settings to default.

Might be stating the obvious, but have you properly set up your joystick/yoke?
And in the menu at the top, do you have Flight Assistance - AI Piloting turned off?
Other than that, I don’t know. Cheers.

If I start airborne the autopilot is normally on, I think.

I cannot move the yoke. It’s like I’m a passenger in the pilot seat. The ‘pilot’ is talking back and forth with the tower. He took off and is flying the plane. I can’t do anything. I’m using a keyboard. He’s maneuvering now and landing, but I can’t do anything. The only involvement I have is towner called out to me and I responded an acknowledgment to land. Other than that, I can only sit and watch. To start, I just picked a plane and selected a starting airport and runway and a destination airport and runway. And when I get into the plane, all I can do is watch and listen to someone else fly the plane.

Hi GodzoneVF. I’m not starting airborne, but starting on the runway. But without doing anything at all … without even touching the computer, the plane just takes off on its own. I wonder if anyone else experiences the same phenomenon with MSFS 2020.

Go to assistance options and change it from “All assists” to “True to Life”, then try again