Interrogating CrashDump file

Evening all, today I downloaded DebugDiag, which reads the data from the CrashDump file generated when MSFS CTD, once its done its job it produces a readable HTML format file containing a lot of data and info, but as I am no expert on interpreting this I have forwarded the files to MS Support in the hope that it may show some light on my CTD’s, here is an example of the report:-

In FlightSimulator.exe.11772.dmp the assembly instruction at FlightSimulator!innative::utility::Stream::DecodeLEB128+1def100 in C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\MicrosoftFlightSimulator\FlightSimulator.exe from Asobo Studio has caused an access violation exception (0xC0000005) when trying to read from memory location 0x00000000 on thread [0]

So, FlightSimulator.exe from Asobo Studio has caused an access violation.

Does this mean that MSFS is the root problem??.

If anyone would like to see the complete report let me know.

1 Like

I played about with DebugDiag earlier this year, and yes, it was possible to drill down and see the actual instruction that had the null pointer, but then the difficulty is tracking back to see where it got that invalid address from, just looking at the disassembled code.

So at that point I stopped sending time on it,

Its not my job to diagnose or fix it… that’s what MS pays Asobo the “Big Bucks” to do.

Now I just run “App Crash View” to get some basic identification of what happened when I CTD, and move on…

At least those CTDs above are “Consistent” !!!

1 Like

This article may be of interest to you. And you can attach it to a ZenDesk ticket when requesting official Technical Support.

1 Like

Hiya, appreciate the response, from what I see it always appears to be an access violation when MS has to access a memory address, surely if this is correct then the problem lies within the main program and not any external application.