Is the dusk lighting realistic?

I was watching Q8Pilot’s livestream and he pointed to lighting at dusk (horizon) which in his opinion looked strange. I got curious and wanted to ask your opinion on it. Is this realistic?

https://youtu.be/rnSJey9BxYA (Skip to 1:07:25)

I worked as a photographer specialized in astrophotography and atmospheric optics.

And yes, that is quite realistic. What you are seeing is the shadow of the Earth projected on the horizon.
Your image may or may not also show a phenomenon known as the “belt of Venus” that has nothing to do with Venus but shows a pink/purple band on the horizon opposite where the sun is setting or rising.

MSFS is quite good with atmospheric optics but lacks variety, all sunrises and sunsets are very similar and that is what is not very realistic.

36 Likes

So it is in fact realistic. I guess Q8Pilot needs to do more research before calling it strange. Thank you Luis :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Yes. Absolutely. I was recently thinking the same thing. MSFS sunrises and sunsets are realistic and beautiful, but after a while the lack of variety gets boring.

1 Like

It would be cool if the user could tweak this. In FSX I have REX Textures and this has many different sky shades that the user can deploy. Seeing the same ‘over the top’ sunrises/sunsets in MSFS gets to be very ‘sameish’ after a while…

1 Like

The sunsets are always ridiculously over the top - like something you’d get in the Serengeti. We don’t often get those vibrant red/oranges that the sim depicts here in the UK. It would be nice to get a bit of variety so when you are in Africa you get an African style sunset, and when you are in the UK you get a very subdued sunset. I suppose that’s asking too much!

8 Likes

Exaggerations in this sim include but are not limited to: sunrise/sunset lighting, icing, frequency of rainbows, lightning, ground effect, wave turbulence…