Is using the VFR map considered cheating?

Hi everyone

Is it cheaty to use the in-game VFR map while flying? I’m very new to aviation so I’m not an expert but don’t real pilots use handheld apps that do almost the same thing while flying?

Have a nice discussion :slight_smile:

2 Likes

no it’s not, if it can help you to learn flying :wink:

2 Likes

Yes they do but i love flying with C152 and with VOR stations without VFR map.

5 Likes

If you’re going for pure realism, yeah, it’s technically cheating because it isn’t a real tool pilots have in that exact form. You should look into ForeFlight or Garmin Pilot if you’re looking to use what real pilots use (have sectionals and a lot of detailed information about the area that the VFR map doesn’t provide; the VFR map was meant for simplicity for new flyers) though these apps are pretty expensive for a sim-only pilot. The VFR map does a decent job if you don’t have access to these tools (though if you’re in a glass cockpit airplane, just use the GPS on the glass cockpit and avoid the VFR map - or on the C172, use the small GPS on the right).

If you’re looking for a challenge that’s more fun and in tune with how you’d learn to fly in real life, try navigating using only a sectional chart (see: http://skyvector.com). You can use the flight plan feature to enter a departure and arrival airport and then drag your route along to different VFR features you see on the sectional. Then try flying those headings while looking for the ground references you set. You can set a timer between each leg and approximate how long it will take you to get to each waypoint, which is how all student pilots learn to navigate initially.

6 Likes

In a broad sense there’s no such thing as cheating in aviation. It’s not a game, and there’s no one keeping score. Wise pilots, real and virtual, use every resource available to them.