Jet turbine not starting

Hi,
I am working on a jet aircraft project and I successfuly created the aircraft. But now when I try to start, the rpm increases but it will never start…

In addition, I am trying to simulate a turbojet where N2 equals N1 (actually there is no N2). Does anyone have a clue how I have to set the configuration?

Has anyone ANY working engines file where you can start the engines?

1 Like

Hi I suggest you take one of the existing engine cfg files maybe from the Citation and work up from there. I am only guessing here but if you are using a turbojet and don’t need an N2, you will have to use some custom coding in your engine gauges to account for it. In other words you might still have to have a N2 value in the CFG to get the engine to run but not actually show an N2 value in the gauges. I’m not a programmer though. I’m only guessing based off what my programmer mentioned about using an N3 value since I’m building a plane with RR engines.

I did exactly that and started with a CJ4 engine file, but it will not work.

After hours of experimenting, I noticed that the CJ4 file in the “SimpleAircraft” project works. I then changed the engine parameters to what I need and it still works.

Interestingly, when copying the flight model to the simple aircraft, the engines will not work anymore — strange :thinking:

Now I am changing the flight model parameters one by one and reloading the aircraft in between. A real pain in the ■■■, but I want to get to know which parameter is causing this behaviour.

I noticed now two points:

• Starter rpm cannot be set above 25% (I need it at 13%, but I noticed nonetheless)
  • Turbine not starting is due to no fuel getting introduced

I have the feeling that the turbine not starting can be traced back to me changing to a single center tank and that now the fuel selector is somehow blocking fuel.

I found the problem after messing around for two weeks!