Looking for a HOTAS

Want to keep it around $200-300, the Logitech X58 seems to be my best bet?

I have an old Thrustmaster Fox 2 that needs an enormous dead zone in order to keep the plane level, but makes small adjustments on approach really hard. Also, the rudder is too twitchy and straight up unusable.

Without breaking the bank, is there anything else worth looking for? I’ve enjoyed other Logitech products (G915, G603, G Pro Headset), I figure the X58’s got to be good too…?

I know the X52 and I’ve seen the X56, but don’t know anything about the X58. It’s not listed on L’tech’s website.

Depends on what you want to fly. I have the X-56 and they work well with both MSFS and other flying games.

But since I fly almost exclusively the A320. I just use my Thrustmaster TCA Officer Pack Airbus edition.

I meant X-56.

I pretty much only fly the 152, sometimes the Baron.

I like the idea of getting into DCS and getting a VR headset for it eventually

Read all the reviews you can find. I have an original Saitek X52 that has held up for 15+ years, but I’ve heard that the new ones from L’tech don’t last as long.

X56 has served me well so far. Has a ton of buttons and axe that can handle most of your needs. Controls feel good and precise.

The feature I love best is the thumb stick on the main stick that’s mapped by default to camera free look.

Save up some money and get one of these https://www.amazon.com/Thrustmaster-HOTAS-Warthog-Flight-Stick/dp/B00CBVHJ00/ref=sr_1_4?crid=22Q2JQCZ1QUT5&dchild=1&keywords=thrustmaster+hotas+warthog&qid=1607942913&sprefix=thrustmaster+hotas%2Caps%2C179&sr=8-4 YOU WILL BE GLAD YOU DID!

2 Likes

:point_up_2: Second!

If I had a throttle, I’d totally agree with this. But to get the throttle too, brings the total up to $880, which I just cannot justify.

I’d get a Saitek yoke and throttle for now, Ideal for the C152 mate, maybe branch into DCS later when prices of things quieten down ?