Missing Hobbs Meter in G36

Hi All

The Hobbs meter in the MSFS G36 is missing and I’d like try and add it into our G36 Improvement Mod.

I am new to this so wondered if there were any knowledgeable people here who could give me some pointers? (I’ve also posted in the FS Developers forum)

To fix the issue I believe I need to…

1. Find the name of the 3d model part in the Bonanza_g36_interior_LOD00.gltf file?
  2. Add a component into our model.xml file using the hobbs template from fs-base-aircraft-common\ModelBehaviorDefs\Asobo\Common\Instrument.xml (lines 421-497)

Looking at the gltf file I can’t find any hour or hobbs meter referenced? Does this mean the model isn’t set up correctly / finished??

Any pointers would be great, trying to reverse engineer at the moment and doing a fair bit of head scratching.

For my own sanity when I come back later to this I am referencing…

https://docs.flightsimulator.com/ht…al_Principles.htm&rhsearch=gltf&rhhlterm=gltf

https://docs.flightsimulator.com/ht…ion/Models/ModelBehaviors/Model_Behaviors.htm

https://docs.flightsimulator.com/ht…hsearch=templates&rhhlterm=template templates

1 Like

I’m not sure why you would say it isn’t set up “correctly/finished”. It’s set up like it’s set up, and, apparently, they chose not to put a Hobbs meter in the plane. That’s not necessarily “wrong”. Maybe that functionality is in the G1000 and it doesn’t need one?

But, after that, assuming your set on adding one, which is also not “wrong”, your general idea on how to add one sounds correct. I’m not sure, however if you’d have to also model it into the model, too? Maybe editing the template into the gltf does that?

Look for a plane that has one (the C152?) and look how it was done in there. JPLogistics has quite a lot of experience with that plane and might be able to help you out.

Hey @FlyingsCool5650