Mods? C: or D: community folder

Hi newbie here
I had probs with installation but that’s another matter.

I have downloaded the launcher to default C: drive this has a community folder in it.
I have downloaded the packages to my SSD drive D: which also has a community folder.

My question is which one do I unzip mods into.

Thanks in advance

Laurie

Within MSFS, in dev mode, go to Tools —> Virtual File System. Community folder location is under “Watched Bases”.

Or just unzip into one of them and test!

Thanks I’ll try that. I had mods installed yesterday but wouldn’t work so copied them to the other community folder and from then the sim wouldn’t work at all. Tried to reinstall sim but wouldn’t launch Don’t know if it was a coincidence. Had to reinstall windows this morning and now the sim is installing as we speak. :crossed_fingers:

1 Like

I’m no expert but I would keep everything on C: drive. You can use ‘Addon Linker’ to put all your mods/addons on to drive D:

I’m not expert, on all of the consequences, but, I’ve been running just fine for a year with the whole thing installed on D:. Well, there is some stuff on C: that you don’t have control over, but, Onestore and Community are on D:.

My machine has two 1TB drives, and addon linker didn’t exist when I first installed, so I chose the drive with more space on it knowing I’ll be adding tons of addons. I’ve looked at the addon linker since, but, it looked too complicated to me. But, that’s me.

1 Like

Thanks I have a 2tb c drive and a 1tb SSD so wanted the majority of MSFS files on the ssd. The installation creates a community folder on that as well. im on 98% installation now so ill be able to find out sonn Thanks for the reply

1 Like

Thanks for the info