My first VATSIM experience

I did my first VFR flight on VATSIM and I would like to share my experience. Hopefully it helps other people joining VATSIM.

I decided to do VFR (as I have very little knowledge about IFR) using Cessna 172 (non-G1000), as I practiced lot with that aircraft in MSFS. I skip setting up VATSIM account and installing vPilot and start with preparation for flight. At first I checked, which airports are online on VATSIM. I used https://map.vatsim.net/ and clicked to display ATC.

VATSIM_map

There were lot controllers in US. It was late night there, so probably thatā€™s how some people spend long winter nights. I didnā€™t want to do night VFR, so US was out of game. There were very few in Europe (early morning) and there were some in Australia/NZ. The least busy airport was NZAA (Auckland, New Zealand). So I chose that for 2 reasons:

1. I didnā€™t want to slow down busy traffic, as I might be slower to react.
  2. I decided to follow race in one of Top Gear episodes from place near Auckland to the most northern tip of New Zealand. James sailed in racing sail boat and Jeremy drove Toyota Auris. So why not take the 3rd option, by air.

I checked also Stats Forwarder to see if the controllers are online. It seems it is more up to date than the map.

The most northern airport in NZ is NZKT (Kaitaia). So that was my destination. Then next step was to check weather. I use https://www.meteoblue.com/en/weather/webmap/beta/ website to do that. And I checked following information:

1. Wind at ground and at 5000 feet. It was quite strong 15 knots from south west.
  2. Low level clouds to check if VFR is possible. Just few clouds.
  3. Temperature and dew point.

Then I opened LittleNavMap. To familiarize with the area and find navigation points. Also to see taxiways at the airport. However, I looked for more precise airport chart at https://chartfox.org/NZAA#NZAA_78487.

Then I prepared my MSFS settings:

1. Switch off AI ATC.