Need a bit of help for PC dedicated to MSFS and VR

I’m trying to get a machine together and it will solely for MSFS 2020 and eventually be for the new 2024. I fly VR all the time . Right now have the G2 but will change that down the road. I’m not a newbie to computers but never built one before. Was going to get my stuff from Newegg Canada as thats where I live. Somethings aren’t available here as they are in the US. I’m not sure what im missing and what I should be getting. I’m after a machine thats upgradable down the road. Being a sole Flight sim machine. I have pics of what i was looking at once i figure out how to add the pics here. I’ve looked at all kinds of U-Tube stuff and Tom’s Hardware pages but I get lost in all the tech stuff. Too many choices. Can you guys let me know what I need to get or not get. Right as it iOS I’m looking at just over 4K

1 Like

I bought one of their pre-built ABS units in Canada that has turned out excellent. I would also consider keeping an eye out for the Prime Day Sale on Amazon in July.

Tom’s Hardware has some good articles on what components work best together. I highly recommend some research on that site.

I know that Alienware is frowned on by manly gamers that must build their own machines. I pretty sure I could build a machine if I wanted to…but I don’t. I’m on my 4th Allienware Aurora…the last one an R16, 14900kf/4090/32Mb DDR5/2Tb Nvme. All for less than your quote and comes with a 1 year, in home warranty if something goes wrong. My ‘puter doesn’t crash because I set something up wrong. Had one warranty issue with the first one, nothing on the next 3. Just sayin’!

A 7800X3D is a better choice for MSFS as it exists today. Will save you some money.

A $650 motherboard is overkill in my opinion. You should be able to get a good B6xx series MoBo for significantly less.

And please don’t buy a $750 1600W power supply! Yikes. You do not need that much power. 1000W still might be overkill.

3 Likes