Need some autopilot help please!

I’m still learning MSFS 2020 and have done a couple of flights entirely flown by the AI pilot so I can play around with views and just get a feel for how to do ‘gear-to-gear’ flights. I set up a full flight in the world map for this and assign an actual approach. Then when I start at the departure runway I let the AI Pilot fly until I land.

My understanding is that the full flight plan is loaded into the aircraft before departure (based on the world map selections) and the AI pilot flies this plan as indicated on the flight display (not sure of the exact term) when I select ‘Plan’. The VFR map also shows the correct flight plan route being flown.

What I want to be able to do (eventually) is to take off on my own and then engage autopilot and the let the plane fly itself, then when on finals I want to disconnect the autopilot and land manually.

What is the correct procedure to engage and disengage the autopilot so that most of the route gets flown by the autopilot (and not the AI pilot)?

The AI Pilot is not the Autopilot.

Autopilot is what some planes have inside their cockpit.

I am not sure what you are using right now and what you want to use in the future.

I’m using AI Pilot now. I want to use the aircraft’s autopilot.

To enable the autopilot you only have to push the autopilot button on the mcp

The autopilot procedures vary by aircraft. What plane are you specifically using?

The AI Pilot - let’s call him/her “Charlie” has limited skill as an automated version of a human. Let’s just say turning on AP already has some challenges in operation. Adding Charlie into the mix may not give you the best experience.

Run through your preflight check list Im going to use the cessna 208 as a ref since I can fly that thing in my sleep.

1st press B on your keyboard to make sure bar pressure is okay…

2nd turn your prop rpms down to around 1600 this will keep you from having to use to much rudder for lauch.