New build, tons of options!

Hey everyone, thanks for taking the time to read through my post!

I’ve been playing MSFS for over 2 years now, most of the time in VR.

Currently my build consists out of (and yes, I know) a pre-build from Lenovo:

• CPU: Intel 10700
  • GPU: Nvidia’s RTX 3070
  • RAM: 32GB DDR4 3200
  • HP Reverb G2 (V2 cable)

Due to my eyesight, and the limitations of my PC, I’ve been having some issues reading instrument panels and seeing the overal beauty of the sim.
To tackle this, I’ve ordered special-made prescription lens covers (which will arrive tomorrow), but I’m also looking into some new hardware.

While browsing, I did come across many configurations (mostly AMD CPU paired with a Nvidia GPU).
I was wondering what would be a decent (it does not need to be overkill) combination?
Should I go for the Ryzen 5800X3D, or would I need a 7800X3D? Which GPU would suit each CPU etc?

Additionally, as AMD has provided fixes for the issues their GPUs had, how does AMD’s 7900 XTX stack up against Nvidia’s GPUs in the (MSFS) VR space?

And again, thank you for taking your time to go through my post! :grin:

1 Like

What matters most for VR is the GPU. Go for 4080 or (if you can afford it) 4090. Calculate the biggest budget you can spend on the GPU, increase by 25% and buy the best GPU possible. It will allow you super sampling so you will be able to squeeze more clarity from the G2.
If you still have plenty of budget go for better headset with bigger sweet spot: Varjo Aero or Pimax Crystal. This is what I did - upgraded from G2, and the FoV, sweet spot and image clarity is amazing. But the price is steep and G2 is still good headset, especially in the centre of the sweet spot.
Finally you may consider better CPU - if you decide to switch to AMD you will need to replace the motherboard and the memory. In fact you will be building a new PC. Given the total cost I would go for 7800x3D and AM5 motherboard to have the CPU upgrade path open.