PID Control in Autopilot for MSFS -- looking for 2nd Opinion

Within the vast MSFS Community, there must be some who are highly knowledgeable about Control Theory, and in particular PID controls.

For any of you who are, maybe you could comment on the use and documentation of PID controls, as used in MSFS.

Ref MSFS SDK Documentation

https://docs.flightsimulator.com/html/Samples_And_Tutorials/Primers/PID_Primer.htm?rhhlterm=pid&rhsearch=pid

In particular note the description of the use of Integral, vs Proportional , in the description of their operation.

Does this seem correct to you ?? What am I missing here ??

In particular

I will re-frame from making my comments, till I hear from a few of you … :wink:

Moved to #sdk-discussion:sdk

I’ll bite. I am no expert and only have an understanding about PIDs from

I kind of understand what Asobo are trying to get across, but their example of a car cruise control does not apply to an aircraft aileron and elevator control. But maybe ok for autothrottle.

In a car cruise control you have zero input (error between wanted and current speed) to produce a constant output of the gas pedal that is non-zero.
In an aircraft you want the output to be zero with the input zero. You want the elevator and or ailerons to be neutral (zero output).

I can follow their explanation and don’t see anything that would be an issue. So what are you seeing?

Thanks for your input … but to save unnecessary confusion, and long complex technical explanations in this thread, of what may be wrong (is wrong to be blunt), that’s why I really addresses this question to those who are more highly knowledgeable about PIDS, who should be able to see very clearly the issues.

1 Like

I don’t see an issue with the highlighted passage.