Pre-built PC advice?

I’m considering whether to build or by my first ‘gaming’ PC specifically for FS2020. I’ve been a software developer for 30 years, so I am ok with either approach. I’ve been researching for about a week but much of the information is not specific to FS, so I’m asking here: Do you recommend build or buy? My budget is $3k and I have several old PCs so I could upgrade one if that makes sense. There are a lot of different experiences on this board so I’m still undecided. Also, some ‘experts’ recommend NOT buying until the ‘new stuff’ comes out. What say you?

Build is defo the way to go…you won’t get the cheap stuff they throw in cases half the time :slight_smile: Build build build…shop around and grab some bargains :slight_smile:

1 Like

Dell desktop, Dell laptop here. Both run MSFS very well, not a single CTD on either.

1 Like

Honestly you should really consider building, especially if you want the newest GPUs or CPUs. Building a PC is as intimidating as building with LEGOs, just make sure to watch a couple of videos. You will probably spend 1/3 of that budget on a really good PC, so that leaves the other 2/3 for stuff like a HOTAS, Screens/Monitors, a rig, maybe even VR?

1 Like

Thanks! Good information.

Dell XPS desktop runs very well i7700k, 1070, 16 GB ram, 1080p and happily runs Ultra :slight_smile:

1 Like

Exactly my XPS configuration! Runs 4K Ultra at decent frame rates for most scenarios.

Unless you hit a fault in any hardware or an incompatibility.
I used to self build but saw to many people having the above and if you are not using a local supplier?

Another option is to have a local shop build to your choice of parts.