Question About Cruising Altitude and Speed

I am completely new to flight sims and am trying to get started in MSFS. In the installation process I chose the option with maximum assists to help me learn. I did all of the tutorials and then set off from Sydney airport for my first flight in the default turboprop.

I followed the ‘objectives’ to take off but can’t seem to get past the one saying to climb to cruising altitude. I ended up getting to 310,000 feet and couldn’t get it to go much higher. I realised that something was probably not right when I switched back to cockpit view and there were warning lights about being too high and to put an oxygen mask on which didn’t seem normal. My plane also seemed to be starting to freeze solid.

I also kept getting a message to stay under 110 knots while climbing. I switched to autopilot to see what the “ideal” altitude and speed were and it immediately sped me way up (to the point where the speed warning kept appearing) and started to significantly drop in altitude.

What is a normal cruising altitude and speed, and do you know what was I doing wrong that the game wouldn’t let me go into the next objective?

1 Like

hope you contacted Houston Center :sweat_smile:

4 Likes

That aircraft can’t go higher than 31,500 feet, if I remember correctly. And you shouldn’t get at that altitude too fast, you need to climb slow to give it time to equalize the inside and outside pressure.

You can see the maximum speed in the cockpit, it’s that that red tape coming from the top of the speed indicator if you are too fast. And that depends if you have the flaps or landing gear extended. After you retract them you can go faster.

Also, the autopilot is full of bugs, so I wouldn’t rely on it, or the co-pilot. And I think the objective to climb to cruise altitude is bugged as well.