Questions about Hardware Upgrades

I’m currently running a GTX 1050ti with an i5-10400F and 8gb of RAM. I’ve been making it work for a while now (since launch), but I’m ready for an upgrade. My first step will be to install 32gb of ram since memory is cheap. But I was curious whether I should upgrade to a 4060 and an i7-10700, or keep my CPU and upgrade to a 3060.

I’m planning on playing 1440p, I mainly fly the PMDG 737 and Fenix A320. I’m new to all this, so feel free to recommend any other setups! But I’d like to keep CPU + GPU under about $600.

Thanks!

After RAM upgrade, the very first next step would be to ensure the CPU is working at its very high limit and if yes to upgrade it, then ensure the newest is also at the highest rate and if yes check if the botleneck have switched to the GPU side.
For this, there’s a very nice too on the net, which is called GPU-Z and helps in observing the bandwith usage on GPU side : if low usage is shown, the CPU isn’t able to bring througput, if high usage is shown, the GPU is on saturation.

Personally, I’d go AMD. Get one of their X3D chips. The extra cache does wonders for MSFS, and FS24 will be able to make use of the high core count even more.

I’d also go with an AMD GPU for the raw rasterization performance, unless you’re really invested in Nvidia’s software (DLSS, etc.). 1440p is the sweet spot for the current GPUs.

You’re on the right track with 32gb of RAM though, MSFS can make full use of it and you’ll have capacity left for other programs. I’d tackle this with a view to future proofing since FS24 is coming this year.

You’ll probably blow out your budget, but I’d spend as much as you’re comfortable. The stronger your PC is now, the longer you’ll be able to run FS24.

Hi LeoadnIX