Radeon RX6800XT Crash

Not a happy bunny. :rage:
Just splashed out on a RX6800XT (my first ever AMD card) for my i9-9900k rig and FS2020 crashes after only a few minuets flying in 2D.
In VR FPS are low and the games crashes.
My old GTX1060 wasn’t very good for VR but at least it didn’t crash FS2020.
As I’m new to AMD graphics I could have some settings wrong so would welcome any advice (apart from byt a RTX3090 :laughing:)

Did you uninstall all of your Nvidia Drivers?

Yes, I used DDU to make sure.
A few minuets ago I read a suggestion that it may be power related, the card is powered from only 1 PSU outlet, so tomorrow I will power it with 2 seperate feeds and report back.

I also have an 6800xt nitro plus S.E and all is fine.
Make sure to download chipsets along with drivers and the radeon katalyst panel
https://www.amd.com/en/support download the app so it will download also the chipsets which you will SURELY miss something in manual

1 Like

I have downloaded and installed the app so my software is current.
I have had limited improvement after manually adjusting the fan speed but still get crashes so the search goes on :woozy_face:

then something else is wrong cause i have 0 ctds anymore

I think my problem has been solved.
I have just done a 2.5 hour flight in the Justflight Arrow III at 1500 -2000ft without a crash. I did have a couple of black screens for a couple of seconds early in the flight, but no crashes.

I am now running Adrenaline 21.3.1 (I might try 21.3.2 later) and have manually tuned my fans so they hit 100% at arond 90C
I monitored GPU temperatures and the hot spot maxed at 89C, fans at 3056 rpm GPU PPT maxed at 250W

I will enjoy flying in VR for now before “tinkering” again.

Thanks to everyone in various forums who posted their experiences and tips on the issues with the RX6800XT, I have tried most of them.

I hope my experience is of use to others.

My RX6800 is custom water cooled so heat isn’t an issue.