Side slip implemented natively?

Not being a real pilot, I don’t know if side slip is allowed on all aircraft or if it is effective for each type. But I recently tested on a couple of planes in the sim and found that some models didn’t seem to descend much when inducing a side slip or front slip. Mostly smaller GA planes could enter a rapid descent in a slip, but that’s more difficult for larger planes. Is this something not well simulated or just how airplanes behave in real life?

In some crosswind landing situations, side slipping a large passenger airplane may be required/advantageous.

However, to do so may be risky due the possibility of scrapping a nacelle if the wings are not level at touchdown. This may be particularly true for outboard nacelles on a four engine airplane.

A more normal large airplane crosswind landing technique is to crab the airplane into the wind until near touchdown and then use rudder to align the airplane with the runway. This requires skill and timing to minimize side drift before the landing gear contacts the runway.

2 Likes

Thanks for the explanation! However I am more concerned about the usage of front or side slip to control descents, especially in steep terrain and when rapid changes in altitude are necessary while not over speeding the aircraft. I did notice some airliners in MSFS behave weirdly in a slip. The amount of aileron input needed to counter the yaw effect is not consistent. Sometimes they slip with full rudder and almost neutral ailerons, whereas GAs needs fully crossed controls to maintain the attitude.