Slowing down for landing

I’ve notice that several of the Single Engine Land (SEL) planes for MSFS have trouble slowing down for landings. Many will float the entire runway with throttle off. On some of them I’ve had to resort to killing the engine on final (dead-stick landings). In this regard they don’t act like real planes. It’s as if the “drag” settings are not high enough, or the throttle-off RPM is too high. This is just a general statement. I don’t want to get into debugging/modifying plane by plane. But are there general user settings or other changes that can be implemented to help mitigate this issue? While I am a retired “programmer” and know how to edit files, I am not a developer, and would rather stick to simple solutions if there are any. THANKS!

p.s. An example of a simple solution: Problem: Airplane taxi’s too fast. Solution: set up a dial type knob on your controller for brakes, so you can dial in “drag” while taxiing.

1 Like

I noticed this on some of the Reno aircraft. The Reno Pitts in particular have ridiculous low speed handling and don’t settle on the runway.

Moved to #self-service:aircraft-systems

I would watch your speed as you approach the runway.

You should be just above the planes stall speed.
As you flare, stall, the plane should settle down on the runway.

This YouTube videos might help…

1 Like

I have found that a nose down attitude will keep the airspeed high no matter what the throttle setting. This seems to be the case no matter which aircraft I fly, so it’s likely built into the basic flight model

I try to achieve a more level approach or even a nose high attitude to bring the aircraft into correct approach speed. I like to fly the YMF5 which has no flaps or spoilers, so it requires a healthy amount of runway. The Extra has similar flight characteristics.