So I did a new thing tonite VATSIM

I’ve kinda eyeballed vatsim for a while, have listened in from time to time… put off actually doing a flight.

The other night I decided to do a little VFR flight under a controlled area, but by the time I got my stuff together, the controller had shut it down for the evening – so there I was buzzing about on Unicom treating it like CTAF and making the best of it. It was pretty lonely except another guy was making proper CTAF calls at another nearby field… but hey, not a bad start, it actually added a little reality.

But tonite my region (which will go unnamed for the safety of those involved) was pretty well manned in VATSIM, so I decided to do a little 500 mile romp under IFR in the CJ4.

For those that do not know – before I kick off into this kinda mini-review, I’m a long inactive private pilot, perfectly comfortable with ATC lingo, but a little rusty in practice. I’m not and never was a real world IFR guy, and certainly not a jet-jockey… but, as it goes to flightsim, I get by just fine and know what to do and say.

So, I loaded up at my departure field, filed my plan, got the CJ all set up and programmed and generally made sure I had my ducks in a row.

Called up to activate my IFR, no issues there – no local tower or approach controller online so was dealing with the Center controller (USA-some unnamed region)… Got all the things done and called him back for the taxi clearance and he’s asking where I am on the field… Not unreasonable question really, but I know that MSFS taxiways and stands have no actual relationship to real world. Unsure exactly how to answer this question I just told him the nearest taxiway intersection and that I was at the ‘main’ terminal.

He was ok with that, and responded just like I was a professional with a valid answer. Set me up a clearance for taxi to a runway I wasn’t expecting and modified my planned departure a bit… Meh, we gotta be flexible, stuff happens.