Some great feedback from a real world pilot with loads of experience

Below is some input that I think would be great to share in here and hopefully, one of the Asobo team members see it and make use of it for future versions of MSFS.

Most of the issues mentioned I’m sure are already well-known and possibly some of them already being worked on. Not to be seen as criticism but rather valuable feedback how this already amazing platform can become even more amazing.

Here’s the clip:

https://youtu.be/_n4ECmu9UKs

15 Likes

As a real life pilot, I agree with all of those points, and in that order too.

Thanks for sharing.

1 Like

+1 for the taxiway clutter.

2 Likes

Very interesting video . What annoy me most are the trees by the runways.Hope Asobo devs lissen to you.Or,even better,they should hire you at their QA (remote working…)
Cheers

2 Likes

Asobo should address the obstruction issue by just coding in a filter for scenery objects that penetrate any of the FAA’s FAR PART 77 imaginary surfaces. These are imaginary inclined planes of varying height to distance ratios that are established to prohibit obstructions to navigable airspace. Most pertinent to the trees at the end of the runway problem would be the RPZs (Runway Protection Zones) that fan out from the runway ends.

Asobo could just apply these FAA obstruction standards and have an algorithm delete (or shorten) any trees, buildings, etc. that violate them. One catch is that some airports may have waivers to certain aspects of Part 77 for specific cases, but it would be a far better starting point than what we have now. I’m also not sure how well this would work for airports outside the U.S., though ICAO tends to standardize design standards for its member countries, so I doubt there would be a significant difference in those countries at least.

5 Likes

I’ll cross-post my response to the video here: