Study Level IFR in the Cessna 172 G1000

Hello everyone,
I have decided to start a series on how to fly IFR, starting from the absolute basics, and hopefully helping people to learn to fly IFR.

I am a professional pilot, former military pilot/instructor, from the Portuguese Air Force, 3300 flight hours, I’ve flown both airplanes and helicopters:

• Cessna 152
  • DHC-1 Chipmunk
  • Socata TB-30 Epsilon
  • Dassault-Breguet Alpha Jet
  • Aérospatiale Alouette III
  • SA-330 S1 Puma
  • Agusta Westland EH-101
  • AW109 E/S

Most of my flight experience is in Search and Rescue and Medical Emergency in the Azores Islands, in the middle of the North Atlantic, flying below 10000 feet, in very rough weather. So I’ve decided to give something back to the community, and say thank you for the free resources that I have used over the years.

The idea is to make a series, guiding people step by step on basic aircraft control, how Radio NAV and GPS NAV works, how to think and plan for IFR, etc. We’ll see where this takes us and how far down the rabbit hole we go.

The first video is out, I have a couple more in the editing process, they should be out in the next weeks. I can point to some free resources that are excellent and will be used as the basis for the videos as we go along. The two main ones are:
FAA’s Instrument Flying Handbook: Instrument Flying Handbook
FAA’s Instrument Procedures Handbook: Instrument Procedures Handbook

I need your feedback! Feel free to ask questions, post comments, ask for clarifications, I will do my best to help.

I will post updates as more videos go online.

First Video:

26 Likes

I’ll be watching your tutorials grateful for your efforts to help this community!

1 Like

I’m about to start Instrument training, so this is timely!

1 Like