Study Level Study

This has probably been asked before so my apologies in advance. Does anyone have a good approach to learning a study level aircraft? As an example, I’m new to the Fenix A320 but I really want to learn it as much as I can without actually being type certified. If anyone has literature or an approach they use to learn these high fidelity planes I would be most grateful.

Here’s what I do, dont read any of the pdf’s that come with it and try to fly it from black … lol no don’t do this.

However the MadDog interface is pretty sweet for pudding heads like myself that allows you to set up the plane ready for takeoff and all you need to do is gear flaps and throttle.

The MD-80 is absolutely brilliant for ham handed idiots.

Seek out and watch videos of real 320 pilots(there are some excellent ones on YT), seek out manuals and data on how the 320 operates, and most importantly, practice. The learning curve on study-level items is quite steep when you first start working with them, but once you get it, you’ll be very satisfied with the experience and journey.

Would you recommend finding a copy of the FCOM?

Yes, most FCOMs are easily found with a quick Google search. Reading them takes a bit of getting used to, since they aren’t really intended for laypersons, but it’s not that big a deal.

YouTube + FCOM + Chucks’ Guides are pretty much all you need.

Chuck’s Guide for the A320 - Chuck’s Guides – FSX FSLabs A320 | Mudspike

Yes, it’s for the FSLabs plane, but 99% of it applies to the Fenix since it’s the same plane.

I had never heard of Chuck’s guide. Thanks much!

I would go through a comprehensive checklist line by line and understand why we do each step we do and understand how to do it. You read the do list first. Then you develop your flows that make you do this faster then back it up with a checklist. Then you should be proficient in operating the aircraft for the most part.