Taking the PC plunge soon

Morning all,

Just looking to garner a wee bit of advice, and perspective here.

I’ve had a Series X and been using the sim since launch. I have observed that over time it has gotten progressively worse. I am not a casual simmer and I do want a degree of realism from the sim, and with all the current Xbox issues (Black avionics, random CTD’S, no WASM support, no .exe support) I’m getting tired of feeling short changed and inferior here.

I have set myself a deadline of SU10 to see tangible improvement on all fronts, otherwise I’m walking away.

Anyway, to my reason for posting. I’m not a PC noob but I’m not an expert either, so what I was thinking was running the sim with mostly high/ultra settings, probably in 1440p but 4K would be nice, decent LOD, and I was thinking that an i5/i7 with 32GB DDR4, and an RTX 3060 or 3070 would do the job to a reasonable standard of FPS (say 30-40). Would I be right in assuming that?

Any advice/input would be appreciated, cheers.

3 Likes

Xbox is a closed system, so simply not everything is possible. If you want to have all freedom, indeed buy a PC. It has nothing to do with being seen as inferior or something like that.

For 1440 that’s Fine. For 4k you do want a 3080 is you want anything around 40fps. Keep in mind that 4k is more than twice the pixel count than 1440p.

2 Likes

I made the XBox X → PC transition last year and haven’t looked back, there is just so much available on PC side that isn’t on XBox, plus stability / performance also sell it for me. To match 4K (albeit upscaled on the X) you do need a good PC though. I’m displaying on my 4K UHD TV via a HDMI cable.

The main point of note on PC is that everyone no matter of spec (unless you have a low end GPU) are running into CPU mainthread limited situations becuase of the way some FS code is legacy from FSX and creates single thread limitation situations. So best to go for best CPU you can afford.