This is a very good sim!

Hi all,

These forums do seem to be full of negativity sometimes.

I’ve been flying in sims since FS2004, via FSX and P3D to MSFS2020.

I’ve always been an on and off simmer, the older sims would require so many different mods for realism they just became an unstable mess. This sim offers so much to me as a casual but experienced simmer, I think it offers just the right amount of immersion.

I was descending into Krakow this evening, the weather was totally clear as it actually is tonight, the FlyByWire a320 was performing beautifully, I was getting a nice stable 40fps and the scenery outside was true to life, it was stunning.

The airports are all good enough, no they’re not great but to know the layout is about right, the buildings are about where they are in real life is enough for me, I’ll buy scenery from Orbx and UK2000 etc as and when I want it, but I don’t NEED to download loads of global textures, scenery maps, live weather addons etc. I don’t NEED a payware airport to feel immersed enough, I don’t NEED an ATC addon or to fly online (Vatsim) to use SIDs and STARs.

I know a lot of you have your complaints, fine, but coming from the autogen blandness of FS2004 (when the “virtual cockpit” rather than just a 2D image on your screen was a new and exciting thing) to accurate satellite imagery around the globe, live weather, live traffic etc is absolutely amazing to me.

And you know the best bit? It’s only going to get better.

Happy New Year everyone!

37 Likes

Agree with you it`s amazing :wink:

Still some issues but as you mention all sims has these some still many

6 Likes

I’m in doubt still, it is a continuous “wow this looks awesome” followed by a huge facepalm when discovering something fundamentally wrong again…

6 Likes

Did you ever use FSX? Compare the basic version of that and the default aircraft that came with it to this, different worlds and a lot more care has gone into this one imho

2 Likes