Training with NDB and ILS MSFS 2020 on Xbox serie X

I am writing this post because I’m new with in airplane simulation and I really don’t know where to start in this forum.

In training mode, I use Turtle beach Velocity One Flight yoke with Xbox serie X console.

My main issue is located with the NDB and ILS exercices. For the NDB exercice, the blue bearing needle is not always present on the HSI. For the ILS section, It is more difficult because the CDI is always perpendicular to the runway.

I know some posts are talking about these issues and the updates are supposed to have fix them but actually (2023-09-10) those issues are still active for my case. The flight deck seem to be Garmin G1000.

Any clues to help me?

Thanks for support

For the NDB, if the blue line isn’t showing, click on the “PFD opt” softkey

Then click on the “bearing 1” or “bearing 2” softkey a couple of times, or until it displays “ADF” (with the freq next to it), and the blue line will show up. The only real difference between bearing 1 and 2 is the arrow is slightly different, but they’re the same functionally. The bearing softkey will cycle through Nav 1/Nav 2/ADF/GPS so you can just keep pushing it if you miss the one you want.

Regards

1 Like

you make my day !!! Know I understand what I didn’t know. I didn’t know that I can use these soft keys. The instructor didn’t tell me that :smile:
The VOR exercise is ok for me. This exercise wasn’t an issue for me. Thanks

The other issue was rather the ILS exercise. I don’t understand why the VOR and the CDI keep perpendicular to the runway (even with the CDI centered) when approching the runway.

I thougt that the complete VOR needle will be aligned with the runway but despite of that I can land the airplane correctly.

Good news. I finally understand how the guideslope indicator works after many attemps to do so.

Thanks again for your support. It help me alote to understand.