Unreal Engine 5 tech for flight sims?

Not a gaming developer so it’s an uninformed question. Is what I see and read about Unreal Engine 5, will or could that tech make its way into flight sims?

1 Like

I am no expert either, but I highly doubt it. While it is impressive that their engine can pull this off, I feel this level of detail is still many years away from making it into a flight sim. Keep in mind we are rendering the entire world as opposed to a tiny level as shown here. It would be awesome but still far fetched.

6 Likes

You can find awesome tech demo of UE3 and UE4 too.
Develop a game is a completely different thing and FS need to use an engine that can manage well open worlds (like FH)
:wink:

1 Like

Mostly no.

Lumen, and Nanite (the two main flagship features of UE5) are not very applicable to flight sims. Of the two, Nanite would be more applicable as it deals with mesh geometry and level of detail for scenes. But for the purposes a flight sim has, this can be accomplished just as well with the hardware acellerated tessellation that we have had since DX11 and the equivelant OpenGL version.

-A software engineer

7 Likes

Assetto Corsa Competitzione is built on UE4 tech with its own integrated physics for car racing simulation, even though the VR side of it is poor the rest of it proves that you can have a highly simulated codebase with UE graphics capabilities.

So yes, I can see a flight sim being used by UE5.

Nanite could be great for photogrammetery or high quality height data since it will handle much higher detail.

Also i see no reason why lumen couldn’t be used for gi in flightsims. Atleast it’s more usable then raytracing in large scale environments.