VFR vs IFR question

Hi there, Which is the better mode to fly in? I am new at all these terms Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance…

VFR allows you the freedom to roam about, looking at the scenery without having to explain to ATC why you’re changing altitude and heading all the time, great if the weather is suitable.
IFR means you have generally file a flight plan in advance and pretty much stick to the planned route and crucially you must obey instructions from ATC. The advantage is that even if the weather is poor you’ve still got a good chance of getting to your destination.

2 Likes

It’s totally a matter of taste. If you are someone who likes procedures and protocols and want to fly an airliner at high altitude from A to B, you’re most likely gonna be the IFR type.
If you like to see where you are flying, do some sightseeing, enjoy the freedom to do some aerobatics and of chosing or finding your own route (bushtrip) then you probably will chose VFR.

I do a lot of VFR and IFR but with IFR I tend to,With the A320,do a lot of low level IFR.Anywhere from 3000 to 7000 feet depending on what I want to look at.It’s all up to your personal taste.Try a bit of both I reckon.Cheers

VFR = Visual Flight Rules. That last part is important, Rules. You are not required to file a flight plan, but if you’re flying anything but an aircraft you own it’s nearly always a requirement.

Here’s a good primer on VFR offered by the AOPA.

IFR = Instrument Flight Rules. You need to be rated to fly IFR. It allows you to fly in “IMC” - Instrument Meteorological Conditions - that usually means you’ll be flying into weather at some point during your flight path. It also means you need to be an in instrument rated aircraft, and to be safe, also one that’s rated for “FIKI” - Flight Into Known Icing. None of the basic GA aircraft in Flight Sim are rated for FIKI. If you have the Premium edition and have the B58 Baron, that one can fly into icing conditions.