What a disappointment

This hurts me to write as a long time enthusiast of the MSFS series. Growing up, I played countless of hours in the 2004 edition and FSX. In anticipation of this game’s release, I built a powerful modern PC was kept very up to date on development progress. From the first launch of the game was let down and it frustrates me to no end that this game keeps getting rave reviews, as beautiful as this game is. After about 20 hours of game time, I’d love to see Asobo start working towards fulfilling the potential. I am a private pilot, instrument rated and tailwheel/complex/high performance endorsed with hundreds of hours on the G1000 (which is important for my expectations for the avionics) and maybe my expectations were a little too high.

The good-
This game is absolutely beautiful. It deserves all of the praise it is receiving for its graphical fidelity in my opinion.

The game is fun for off-the-cuff shenanigans.

This game is likely to be relevant for years, and improving hardware will improve the experience available in MSFS2020 over time.

The physics models seem to be generally pretty good.

The sound design is good, being able to hear when the fuel ignites in turbine engines with the tell-tale little “puff”

The bad-

Too many switches in aircraft are “inop”. I understand that there is no need to simulate every single switch in every single airplane, but come on. In example, the Baro knob to adjust the PFD altimeter setting on the King Air 350 is inop, so realistic IFR flying is less immersive.

Enough has been said about the load times. I have the game on a blazing fast NVME SSD on PCIe 4.0 and the game still takes forever to load just into the main menu.