What about a cockpit sharpness slider in options?

…kind of when they go low, we go high?

I have been involved in FS for decades, but admittedly am a complete noob regarding VR, having received my first headset (G2) just recently.

Waiting for the 22nd, I installed Aerofly FS2. Wheew, breathtaking immersion with great clarity in scenery and cockpits! A fascinating new world opened up, and then FS was just a few days out!

Unfortunately, FS quickly turned out to be somewhat disappointing. Not because of the notably lower framerates (to be expected with tons of additional computations and processes to handle), but mostly because any text in the the cockpit is so very hard to read unless I zoom in very close. I find myself more deciphering the PFD or the MCDU than actually enjoying flying the plane. In Aerofly an A320 flight from SF to LA had me smiling all over, the same experience in FS is tiring and makes my eyes feel strained.

I have read uncountable posts on how to optimize and have experimented for hours. I indeed got the VR visuals to improve, let’s say from frankly unuseable to acceptable. But whatever I turn down mostly results in better framerates, but hardly raises instrument sharpness, sometimes even degrades it. A trade-in of features and lower scenery quality for higher cockpit rendering seems impossible.

So here is my question: Since for the sake of VR I am willing to sacrifice a lot of the features like traffic, reflections, bloom, water waves, rain, high LOD, photogrammetry, you name them, sparing the engine from a lot of computations, shouldn’t I be rewarded with sharper and eye-friendly instruments? Is there any way to achieve this, or will any downgrade in features, or upgrade in graphics card/processor only further raise frames but leave the cockpit clearness basically untouched? Or has the FS rendering engine been written this way (low scenery quality=low cockpit quality) and I am just looking for the impossible?