Why not make one flight plan format for all

I’m not a programmer, but I have some that work for me. Good ones. That being said, I do not always understand all that they explain to me, so forgive me if I don’t get it all exactly right.

Each time you change the code of the exported aircraft flight plan file, it is potentially a different layout. Things are “jumbled” around - not the same. Sometimes, all roads do not lead to the same place.

This introduces potential errors. Like when I import a simbrief *.flp into crj700 fms and the result is duplicate waypoints, for example, that then have to be edited out.

The time to correct this is not so much an issue as, both separate flight plans, although meant to be the same, are in fact different.

I am told one format relies on north-south coordinates, while the other relies on east-west. They opened the files and showed me.

If this is true, and I have no reason to doubt my own programmers, that alone can be a cause for introducing potential errors between the two flight plan formats.

Also, I don’t know but wonder, is the software used to write the original *.pln the same as that used to write the *.flp. That can also be a source of error between the two plan formats, although I did not this earlier to ask about it.

I was thinking that if Aerosoft imported the *.pln format into the crj700 fms, then there would be no difference between the code.

[Or, if Asobos built those paying customers of theirs, a flight plan converter???]

MSFS 2020 and CRJ700 would potentially have the exact same flight plan. No errors, no editing post install, less chance for msfs 2020 atc thinking you are doing one thing, and crj700 fms flying to something else. Especially on approaches.

In the meantime, I am having my guy look into building me a *.pln to *.flp converter, as the simbrief exports are obviously different, or there would be no problems to “fix” once the simbrief *.flp was loaded into the crj700 fms.