Why not use Torrent for updates?

Yes , Torrent.
Link in a sticky in “News and Announcements”
Maybe mail the users ( goes in one click for as many as needed , nowadays )

Let the MSFS 2020 community help it out.

MSFS 2020 is totally protected and originated at 2 sources only ( as I undestand it ).
MS Store or XBOX platform validates user account and proof of purchase…
Steam the same.
Finally , the “real product” only servers its pourpose if it is used “online”

So ?

No mounstruous cloud servers to pay for and bandwith to deal with.

Every one involved would contribute.

One big compressed file with each folder updated + launcher + installer file in it.

Am I missing something ?

Greetings

1 Like

Torrents, by design, are insecure. You would also have to build a torrent client into MSFS and we can only ask the gods themselves what problems that would cause.

9 Likes

I’m not an expert but i think with torrents anybody could ship malware with every update. You are not downloading from a secure server and with torrents Asobo can’t guarantee clean files.

2 Likes

How so ?

Not at all. The Software just would read from a local source instead of “download - decompress”

There is a Hash for autenticity…

Thank for comments, my silly idea…
but ???

Could be a good idea for those with poor connection when downloading huge files during updates.

I am wondering what Steam is using?

There’s not a lot of security code built into torrents. You’re downloading from another person’s files essentially; not a secured server.

If torrents were insecure Linux would be in trouble

2 Likes