Windsocks are animated wrong according to FAA/Transport Canada

Being a real pilot, I thought from day 1 this sim didn’t produce enough wind. That’s because I was looking at the windsocks, and notice they were all limp, as if there was no wind. The plane heading on approach disagreed, so this stood out.

I just tested this in the sim, after finding out what it should be. I could not confirm yet that the standard is the same in Europe, but the FAA and Canada match. You can read about it here.

Basically, each colored ring on a windsock represents 3 kts. So if the wind is 9 kts, the first three rings (red, white, red) will be horizontal, and the last two will be limp. 6 kts would mean the first two rings. 15 kts, then, as the windsock only has five rings, will fully extend it.

Considering how many people are flying VFR (me included!), properly working windsocks would make a significant contribution to realism, fun, and utility of this sim.

Thanks!

6 Likes

From my limited avaition experience I can also remember people telling me about the “3kt per stripe” rule, although I was not able to find any mention of that in my German theory books. So I looked through some relevant official ICAO documents to see what they have to say about wind cones. See the references below for details.

Summary

They refer to them as “wind direction indicators”, emphasising that their main purpose is to indicate directionality and not wind speed. Furtheremore they are not very clear on how they have to look like, they seem to only give recommendations and not require any specifics. (This is quite the opposite to the FAA :joy:)

References

The following is an excerpt from ICAO Annex 14 "Aerodromes", Volume I "Aerodrome Design and Operations", Seventh Edition, July 2016.

CHAPTER 5. VISUAL AIDS FOR NAVIGATION

5.1 Indicators and signalling devices

5.1.1 Wind direction indicator

Application

5.1.1.1 An aerodrome shall be equipped with at least one wind direction indicator.