WORST bottleneck I've ever seen, sim unplayable

Hey guys, my MSFS is unplayable right now because apparently - 32GB of RAM isn’t enough
on the flight from KATL to EDDF.

I don’t have a bad PC, correct me if I’m wrong.
9700K → 32GB RAM at 3200mhz → all installed on an M.2 SSD, running a 1080ti and temps are good.

Do you guys have similar issues? I don’t think this is normal, never seen such a huge bottleneck before.

Thanks in advance for your tips!

1 Like

This Image says nothing. Because there could be other programms using your ram

1 Like

I think the most common use-case is, having chrome open with 2-3 tabs and a version of smartcars,
to track the VA flight. MSFS alone was using 29GB which made me go down to 2-4fps average…

Hi

I’m new to the sim having only installed it this week.

I am going through the process of starting with my graphics on low, picking a busy airport and a large aircraft, then working my way up to see how far I can go with my graphics.

I picked London City (EGLC) and the 787.

So my initial test with everything on low or off has given me this outcome. I dont have any other programmes running. Why is my main thread limiting me with such low settings? And why isn’t my GPU doing much?

I have the following specs

Nvidia 1080ti
32GB Ram
Intel Core i7 8700K 3.70GHz 6 core
M.2 1T

1 Like

New here? Welcome! First, keep in mind: 30 fps will be your goal. Serious. This is what an rtx3090 gives. Is it a GPU related issue? Nops! The CPU optimization for MSFS is terrible. So, keep this in mind: 30 fps (with frame drop in large cities and airport) is normal.
Buy an yoke or side stick, it saves the experience haha

Hi, thanks for your reply. I’m not new to flight simming… I was with Xplane before. I have the saitek yoke and rudder system plus the multi panels etc. I also recently bought the Airbus sidestick. I’m more of a Boeing man myself but with MSFS I thought I’d try the Airbus. :grinning: