8-10fps increase from just changing aspect ratio (good for 4K)

So, I have a decent system… but my 4K screen is a performance killer. I may have a “hack” to help improve performance and would like some thoughts.

First, my system is:

i7-7700k (clocked to 4.8)
GTX 1080ti FTW3 (11GB)
64GB 3200 RAM
m.2 SSD.
Dell 46" 4K 60hz display

Now, for the most part the system is sick… Even with the 4K screen. Call Of Duty Modern Warfare (about the only other game I play) I get insane performance at max settings etc. Understandably, ANY flight sim will not respond the same and I know that. I am a wedding photographer by trade, so this is why I have the larger 4K display for work. Otherwise I would consider a 1440p setup.

Anyway…

I got to thinking… “If I can reduce the amount of pixels being processed, maybe I can improve performance?”

So… I thought about running a custom resolution, just for the sim. (3840x1600) (close to a 21:9 aspect). This gives the black bars at top and bottom… BUT, also makes it a bit more viewable in terms of side to side viewing. Also, this is about what I would get if I got a nice 1440p ultra-wide anyway. So, I actually like this aspect for flying more vs. the stock 16:9 ratio.

So… the big question, is does it effect performance? The amount of pixels now being “driven” has been reduced.