Any comparison of Spad.Next, Mobiflight, etc.?

Is there a good comparison of these types of utilities?

Mostly I’m trying to compare their functionality, and compatibility, rather than a “vs.” situation.

I’ve read about and tried both, but am having a harder time trying to determine where the crossover is, and what other apps, e.g. Axis and Ohs, should also be considered.

I’ve only used Spad.next. There’s a bit of a learning curve to it, but I haven’t encountered much I couldn’t do with it. I even wrote (with the help of internet examples) some scripts for it to fix some annoying behavior in the Aerosoft Twin Otter and the MSFS GA autopilot, and I used it to interface with an Arduino project of mine (moving a servo in response to changes in the pitch trim in MSFS).

1 Like

I only use MobiFlight with good success, super helpful Developers on their Discord page.

2 Likes

I’ve only used Mobiflight, and I am FAR from an expert, but the amount of work the creator and the community have done to create such a powerful and free utility is astounding.

Is does require at least some basic familiarity with coding and variables, but there is always someone on their Discord who will point you in the right direction. And, the odds are, whatever you are looking to do has already been done and someone has the code for you. :slight_smile:

3 Likes

Mobiflight per-se is, as I understand it, primarily intended to control Arduino-based hardware projects, which I don’t currently have, but the Mobiflight WASM module which adds hundreds of events that are not available in the base sim to Simconnect is priceless to me, and is the only way I’ve found to automate quite a lot of aircraft systems.